The Museum is located in the center of Thessaloniki and is open from 1982. It is housed in the neo-classical building of famous architecture named Ernst Ziller and is a building of unique historical importance. During the period of 1904-1908 it was used as the headquarter center of the Macedonian Struggle.
In 1990, G. Anemogiannis, responding to the request of the association "Friends of the Macedonian Struggle Museum" contributes significantly to a radical overhaul. Although the rooms have been renovated in 2009 with funding from the Operational Programme "Culture", several elements of the interventions of the Cretan screen painter are kept until today. Among these are a number of small and large dioramas painted by himself, with snapshots of the Macedonian Struggle, which continue to impress with their vitality and vividness. Particularly four natural size dioramas, which are displayed in the building's basement, are magnificent. Also on the ground floor, where the permanent collection is, the basic structure of the exhibition space has been maintained. Here Anemogiannis created separate sections of the different phases of the Macedonian struggle. Indeed, in one of the halls, the scenographic representation of Koromila‘s office is, edited by Anemogiannis. Koromilas was the head of Macedonian Struggle.
It is also noteworthy that although in the early 90s conservative perceptions of the museum institution are still prevailing, Anemogiannis, oriented to more modern museological approaches, seeks to establish the museum space conducive for experiential tour. As modern museologist, he introduces new technologies with audiovisual material and interactive applications that require the participation of the visitor, unknown methods until then for most Greek museums.